Composition of Parliament

Article 78 (1) of the Constitution prescribes the composition of Parliament as follows:

  1. Parliament shall consist of:
    1. Members directly elected to represent constituencies;
    2. One woman representative for every district;
    3. Such numbers of representatives of the army, youth, workers, persons with disabilities and other groups as Parliament may determine; and
    4. The Vice-President and Ministers who, if not already elected Members of Parliament, shall be ex officio members without the right to vote on any issue requiring a vote in Parliament.
  2. Upon the expiration of a period of ten years after the commencement of this Constitution and thereafter, every five years, Parliament shall review the representation under paragraph(s) (b) and (c) of clause (1) of this article for the purposes of retaining, increasing, or abolishing any such representation and any other matter incidental to it.
  3. The representatives referred to in paragraph (a) of clause (1) of this article shall be elected on the basis of universal adult suffrage and by secret ballot.
  4. Parliament shall, by law prescribe the procedure for elections of representatives referred to in paragraphs (b) and (c) of clause (1) of this article.


The 11th Parliament as at 03 April 2024 comprises of:

Constituency Representatives - 353

Women Representatives - 145

Uganda Peoples' Defence Forces' Representatives - 10

Youth Representatives - 5

Persons with Disabilities' Representatives - 5

Workers' Representatives - 5

Older Persons' Representatives - 5

Ex Officio Members - 27


Parliament is presided over by the Speaker, and in his absence, the Deputy Speaker both of whom are elected by Members of Parliament from their number.