Speaker of Parliament

  • Jacob L. Oulanyah (MP)


    Article 82 of the Constitution provides that there shall be a Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Parliament, who are elected by Members of Parliament from among their number. The Speaker is the Chairperson of the Parliamentary Commission, the Committee on Appointments and the Business Committee.

    The Speaker chairs all sittings of Parliament and ensures that debates are handled in accordance with the Rules of Procedure.
    As head of the institution of the Legislature, the Speaker represents Parliament in its corporate relations.
    The Speaker may after consultation with the President, prorogue Parliament by proclamation.
    The Speaker may also, by proclamation, appoint such a place and time within Uganda where Parliament shall sit.

  • Anita Annet Among (MP)


    The duties of the Deputy Speaker are as outlined above for the Speaker