Parliamentary Commission

Article 87A of the Constitution establishes the Parliamentary Commission. Section 2 (2) of the Administration of Parliament Act provides for the composition of the Commission to include: Speaker, Deputy Speaker, Leader of Government Business, Leader of the Opposition, the Minister responsible for Finance and four Commissioners (Backbench Members of Parliament). The Clerk to Parliament is Secretary to the Commission.

The Commissioners of the 10th Parliament include:

  1. The Rt Hon. Speaker - Rebecca A. Kadaga (MP)
  2. The Rt Hon. Deputy Speaker - Jacob L. Oulanyah (MP)
  3. The Leader of Government Business - Dr Ruhakana Rugunda
  4. The Leader of the Opposition in Parliament - Betty Aol Ocan (MP)
  5. The Minister of Finance, Planning and Economic Development - Matia Kasaija (MP)
  6. Four Backbench Members:
  1. Arinaitwe Rwakajara (MP)
  2. Francis Mwijukye (MP)
  3. Safia Juuko Nalule (MP)
  4. Solomon Silwany (MP)


Functions of the Parliamentary Commission

  1. To appoint, promote and exercise disciplinary control over persons holding public office in Parliament;
  2. To review the terms and conditions of service, standing orders, training and qualifications of persons holding office in Parliament;
  3. To provide security staff to maintain proper security for the Members of Parliament and facilities within the precincts of Parliament;
  4. To provide a Parliamentary reporting service;
  5. To provide such other staff and facilities as are required to ensure the efficient functioning of Parliament;
  6. To cause to be prepared in each financial year estimates of revenues and expenditure for Parliament for the next financial year;
  7. To make recommendations to Parliament on or, with the approval of Parliament, determine the allowances payable and privileges available to the Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Members of Parliament; and
  8. To do such other things as may be necessary for the well-being of the Members and Staff of Parliament.