LoP names new Shadow Cabinet

The Leader of the Opposition in Parliament (LOP), Betty Aol Ocan, has appointed a new shadow cabinet, delivering on a promise she made while taking over office. 

“It has been a question since the time I took office from my predecessor, people asked whether I was to continue with the old cabinet,” said Aol.

Aol, the Gulu district woman MP, replaced Hon. Winfred Kiiza (FDC, Kasese) as Leader of the Opposition in August 2018.

The Shadow Cabinet comprises members from the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), Democratic Party and Independents.

Aol announced the Cabinet during Parliament sitting on Thursday, 29th November 2018.

During a social media Tweet Chat in October, Aol promised that she would form a cabinet that would bridge the differences in the opposition.

The appointments are in accordance with Rule 14 of the Rules of Procedure of Parliament, which provides that “the Leader of the Opposition shall in consultation with his/her party leadership appoint a shadow cabinet from members of the Opposition in Parliament.”

The shadow cabinet members hold portfolio and functions corresponding to those of Cabinet ministers and are mandated to provide alternative policy recommendations to government.

Aol dropped six MPs from the Shadow Cabinet left by her predecessor including Herbert Edmund Ariko, Franco Centenary, Gilbert Olanya, Micheal Kabaziguruka, Lucy Akello and Moses Kasibante.

The new Shadow Cabinet includes: Wilfred Niwagaba (Ind, Ndorwa East) as the Auditor  General, Medard Ssegona (DP, Busiro East) in charge of Justice and Constitutional Affairs and Hon Akol Anthony (FDC, Kilak North) holding the portfolio of  Finance, Planning and Economic Development minister.