New Sheema North MP sworn in

The new Member of Parliament for Sheema North, Hon Naome Kibaaju has been sworn in. This brings to total 459 MPs in the 10th Parliament.

In a sitting chaired by the Deputy Speaker, Jacob Oulanyah, on Tuesday 06 November 2018, the MP swore to be faithful and bear true allegiance to the Republic of Uganda and to preserve, protect and defend the Constitution.

Hon Kibaaju is a member of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) party and replaces the Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr Elioda Tumwesigye, who resigned to contest for the Sheema Municipality seat. The by-election was held on 08 October 2018.

Oulanyah welcomed Hon Kibaaju and asked her to focus on serving all Ugandans, after all he said, whatever is done in Parliament focuses on the goodwill of the people.

“We do things that concern our people and do not concern ourselves with things that don't concern our people so you should adopt that mentality,” he said.