

MOTION FOR RESOLUTION OF PARLIAMENT UNDER SECTION 7(2a) OF THE LOCAL GOVERNMENTS ACT CAP. 243 FOR ALTERATION OF BOUNDARIES OF MOROTO MUNICIPALITY

RECALLING THAT, Moroto Municipality was created by this August House and took effect in 1974.

AND WHEREAS, the District Council of Moroto under minute 07/DLC/2012 resolved and expressed willingness to expand the Municipality boundaries to include some villages because Moroto Municipality is one of the Smallest Municipalities in Uganda and set to attain City status in 2023 of which the Expansion would facilitate the Process in line with the National Urban policy that recommends a sizable area size and Population size.

NOTING

- 1. That the Villages of Nachogoram, Apetaoi, Lokwakwa, Natapar Kocuc, Kalopwanya, Kanakomol and Awoimuju from Nadunget Sub-County and Mount Moroto Village of Katikekile Sub County be transferred to the Municipality to be part of South Municipal Division.
- 2. That the same District Council in the same Minute resolved that the Villages of Nachele, Nabokat, Namijimij, Kaloi west and Katanga of Nadunget Sub county; the villages of Acholi-Inn, Army Barracks, Natopojo, Kwamong, Kalukalet, Kidepo, Natumkskou and Kaloi East from Rupa Sub-County; the Villages of Singila and Nabuin from Katikekile Sub-County be transferred to the Municipality to be part of North Municipal Division.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY PARLIAMENT

- 1. That the boundaries of Moroto Municipality be altered to include the villages of Nachogoram, Apetaoi, Lokwakwa, Natapar Kocuc, Kalopwanya, Kanakomol, Awoimuju, Mount Moroto, Nachele, Nabokat, Namijimij, Kaloi west, Katanga, Acholi-Inn, Army Barracks, Natopojo, Kwamong, Kalukalet, Kidepo, Natumkskou, Kaloi East, Singila and Nabuin.
- 2. That this correction takes effect from 1st July 2019.

Right Hon Speaker, I beg to move.

:

MOVED BY

Hon. Tom .R. Butime MP X Minister of Local Government

SECONDED BY :

14th November 2019