REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS (LOCAL GOVERNMENT) ON THE LIST OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTING OFFICERS FOR FINANCIAL YEAR 2018/2019

1.0 Introduction

The list of Accounting Officers for FY 2018/2019 appointed in accordance with Section 11 (2) (g) of the Public Finance Management Act, 2015 was laid on table yesterday, 11th July, 2018. The House referred the list of the Local Government Accounting Officers to the Committee on Public Accounts (Local Government) to scrutinize and report back to the House today, 12th July, 2018.

The Committee has scrutinized the list and now reports.

2.0 Methodology

The Committee scrutinized the list of Accounting Officers and made reference to its reports on the Auditor general's Reports for financial Years 2014/2015; 2015/2016 and also considered its interactions with some Accounting Officers while considering the Auditor General's Report for Financial Year 2016/2017. The Committee, in its deliberations, was guided by the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda and the Public Finance Management Act, 2015.

3.0 Findings

The Committee generally agrees with the list as laid on table but had reservations with the following appointees for the reasons outlined hereunder.

1. Aloysius Aloka, Chief Administrative Officer, Nakapiripirit

The Committee finds him not suitable for appointment in accordance with Section 11(2) (g) of the Public Finance Management Act, for failure to provide accountability for funds as reported in the Auditor General's Report s below.

In Financial Year 2014/2015, he mismanaged funds for the rehabilitation of Namalu-Lorenga Road and was required by Parliament to pay back. In 2015/16, he failed to prioritise the recovery of UGX **34,009,668** which he paid out to various employees without the necessary verification. Parliament required him to make good the loss.

In 2016/17, he authorized expenditure in excess of warrants to the tune of UGX **4,028,051,146** as per the appropriation statement and failed to account for funds totaling UGX **26,126,649**.

2. Larwor Jimmy Walmoe, Chief Administrative Officer, Katakwi

In 2015/16, he was found to have diverted funds meant for rural transport infrastructure amounting to UGX **102,424,099** intended for low cost ceiling of Katakwi-Toroma Road. Parliament recommended for his interdiction to pave way for investigation and required him to make good the loss.

In 2016/17 he authorized excess expenditure of UGX **167,6797,654** as per the appropriation statement. He failed to account for UGX **358,467,405** and had doubtful expenditure of 138, 635,563 and failed to remit shared revenue of UGX **47,308,750**

3. Francis Andrew Oluka Chief Administrative Officer, Sironko

In Financial Year 2016/17 he authorized expenditure in excess of warrant to the tune of UGX **1,764,640,513** as per appropriation statement. He failed to account for funds 564,893,189. He had doubtful expenditure of UGX **65, 037,142** and caused loss of UGX **6, 612,503**. In addition, the Committee found that while Accounting Officer for Budaka, he was always out of station.

4. Patrick Olila, Chief Administrative Officer, Lamwo

In FY 2015/16, Parliament found him to have mismanaged a contract awarded M/S North Cross and Abayo Foundation for the supply of equipment to council and recommended for his interdiction to pave way for investigations.

2016/17 he authorized expenditure in excess of warrant to the tune of 2014256964 as the appropriation statement. He failed to account for funds to the tune of 13,898,900. He diverted funds equivalent to UGX 4,600,000.

5. Dorothy Magoola Ajwang, Chief Administrative Officer, Oyam

In 2016/17, she failed to account for funds to the tune of UGX 77,678,610. She has not provided leadership to the District Local Governments where she has been. The Committee has met her in Gulu while considering the Auditor General's reports for Financial Years 2014/15 and 2015/16 and in Oyam while considering the Auditor General's Reports for Financial Year 2016/17 and the

trend is the same. Even before those two stations the Committee established that the same prevailed while she was Accounting Officer in Kyegegwa and later Mpigi before Gulu.

6. Balaba Swaibu, Town Clerk Moroto Municipality.

The Committee was concerned that some Accounting Officers were evidently not incharge of their votes for example, the Accounting officer of Moroto Municipality, Mr. Balaba Swaibu showed incompetence in answering queries concerning his vote as he kept referring every question raised by the committee to the Finance Officer. This was clearly evidenced when the committee had to postpone a meeting because of the absence of the Finance Officer, in a matter that was related to the engineering Department as opposed to the Finance Department.

4.0 Conclusion

The Committee recommends that the appointments of the above Accounting Officers be reconsidered in light of the reservations of the Committee stated above.

Madam Speaker, Honorable Members, I beg to move.

1

SIGNATURE LIST FOR THE MEMBERS OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE (LOCAL GOVERNMENT) ON THE COMMITTEE REPORT ON THE APPROVAL OF THE ACCOUNTING OFFICERS FOR THE LOCAL GOVERNMENTS FOR THE FY 2018/19

S/N	NAME	CONSTITUTENCY	SIGNATURE
1	HON. OKUMU RONALD REAGAN	ASWA COUNTY	
2	HON. OKIN P.P. OJARA	CHUA WEST	The second
3.	HON. SSEKABIITO JOSEPH	MAWOGOLA COUNTY	
4.	HON. BAGUMA SPELLANZA MUHENDA	DWR KYENJOJO	169
5.	HON. BAFAKI GORDON	KAZO COUNTY	1000
6.	HON. MUHEIRWE.M.DANIEL	BUHAGUZI COUNTY	
7.	HON. AKELLO SILVIA	DWR OTUKE	
8.	HON. ETUKA ISAAC JOAKINO	UPPER MADI COUNTY .	Hhrr W. Com
9.	HON. AJILO MARIA GORETTI ELOGU	DWR KABERAMAIDO	Symmetry .
10.	HON. EGUNYU NANTUME JANEPHER	DWR BUVUMA	. and
11.	HON. KAJUNGU MUTAMBI ROSETTE	DWR MBARARA	
	CHRISTINE		Semud.
12.	HON. SSEMBATYA EDWARD NDAWULA	KATIKAMU COUNTY	0
	*,	SOUTH	X a.
13.	HON. BASEMERA KISEMBO NOELINE	DWR KIBALE	Mon
14.	HON. KASOLO ROBERT	IKI-IKI COUNTY	
15.	HON. SARAH NAJJUMA	NAKASEKE DISTRICT	
16.	HON. BYIBESHO SAM	KISORO MUNICIPALITY	Dar -
17.	HON. MUTEBI NOAH WANZALA	NAKASONGOLA COUNTY	100 #
18.	HON. MUKISA ROBINAH HOPE	DWR NAMAYENGO	111
19.	HON. ANGELLA FRED	MOROTO MUNICIPALITY	AAMIIIIII T
20.	HON. ARINDA GORDON KAKUUNA	BUSHENYI-ISHAKA	J GHISTING F
		MUNICIPALITY	
21.	HON. ONZIMA GODEREY	ARINGA NORTH	
22.	HON. DULU ANGEL MARK	ADJUMANI COUNTY	

23.	HON. WETONGOLA REHEMA	KAMULI MUNICIPALITY		
24.	HON. CHRISTINE ACHEN AYO	ALEBTONG DISTRICT		
25.	HON. GRACE NAMAKULA	DWR NAMISINDWA		
26.	HON. JULIUS OCHEN	KAPELEBYONG COUNTY		
27.	HON. MUKULA FRANCIS	AGULE COUNTY	4	
28.	HON. OCEN PETER	KOLE SOUTH	add	
29.	HON.WEKOMBA SARAH	BULAMBULI DISTRICT	(Carah:	
30.	HON. ONGIERTHO EMMANUE L	JONAM COUNTY	- Lei	حر
31.	HON. TABAN AMIN	KIBANDA NORTH		*
		COUNTY		
32.	HON. IBRAHIM KASOZI	MAKINDYE EAST		
33.	HON. MUGUME ROLAND	RUKUNGIRI		
		MUNICIPALITY		
34.	HON. JONATHAN ODUR	ERUTE SOUTH		
35.	HON. NAMBOOZE BETTY. B	MUKONO MUNICIPALITY		
	d		!	

4,

•

. ⁷1