Committees of Parliament

Standing Committees: These are set up at the start of a new term of Parliament and again after two and a half years. They last two and a half years.

Sectoral Committees: These are departmentally related committees, whose composition is determined at the start of each new session. Sectoral Committees last one session (one year) and comprise of about 30 members designated by Whips and approved by the House.