Composition of Parliament

Article 78(1) of the 1995 Constitution prescribes the composition of Parliament as follows:

  1. Parliament shall consist of :

    1. Members directly elected to represent constituencies;

    2. One woman representative for every district;

    3. Such numbers of representatives of the army, youth, workers, persons with disabilities and other groups as Parliament may determine; and

    4. The Vice-President and Ministers who, if not already elected Members of Parliament, shall be ex-officio members without the right to vote on any issue requiring a vote in Parliament.

  2. Upon the expiration of a period of ten years after the commencement of this Constitution and thereafter, every five years, Parliament shall review the representation under paragraph(s) (b) and (c) of clause (1) of this article for the purposes of retaining, increasing, or abolishing any such representation and any other matter incidental to it.

  3. The representatives referred to in paragraph (a) of clause (1) of this article shall be elected on the basis of universal adult suffrage and by secret ballot.

  4. Parliament shall, by law prescribe the procedure for elections of representatives referred to in paragraphs (b) and (c) of clause (1) of this article.

The 9th Parliament of Uganda comprises of:

238 Constituency Representatives

112 District Woman Representatives

10 Uganda People's Defence Forces Representatives

5 Representatives of the Youth

5 Representatives of Persons with Disabilities

5 Representatives of Workers

13 Ex-officio Members

Parliament is presided over by the Speaker, and in his absence, by the Deputy Speaker both of whom are elected by Members of Parliament from their number.




Parliament of the Republic of Uganda.

Plot 16-18 Parliament Avenue

P.O BOX 7178, Kampala, Uganda.

Tel: +(256) 414 377 000/150.

Fax: +(256) 414 346 826.