Committee on Legal and Parliamentary Affairs
 
The Committee on Legal and Parliamentary Affairs is mandated by Parliament to oversee the activities and programmes of the following Government Departments and Institutions: -

(i) Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Affairs

(ii) The Judiciary

(iii) The Parliamentary Commission

(iv) The Uganda Law Reform Commission

(v) The Electoral Commission,

(vi) The Uganda Human Rights Commission

(vii) The Judicial Service Commission

(viii) The Directorate of Public Prosecutions

(ix) The Law Development Centre

(x) The Inspectorate of Government

It comprises of twenty (20) Members selected from among Members of Parliament on the basis of the parties or organizations represented in Parliament.

EMAIL ADDRESSES:

Committee email address is: comm.legal@parliament.go.ug

Email address of chairperson of committee is: chair.legal@parliament.go.ug

 
COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP
 
Name Constituency Party Name Role(s) email
Tashobya N. Stephen Kajara County NRM Chairperson stashobya@parliament.go.ug
Baka Stephen Mugabi Bukooli County North NRM Vice Chairperson sbmugabi@parliament.go.ug
Achia Remigio Pian County NRM Member rachia@parliament.go.ug
Amoding Monicah National Female Youth Represantive NRM Member mamoding@parliament.go.ug
Ayena Krispus Oyam County North UPC Member kayena@parliament.go.ug
Kabakumba Masiko Labwoni Princess Bujenje County NRM Member klmasiko@parliament.go.ug
Kamateeka Jovah Woman Representative (Mitooma) NRM Member jkamateeka@parliament.go.ug
Karuhanga Kafureeka Gerald Youth Western Represantive INDEP Member gkaruhanga@parliament.go.ug
Katuntu Abdu Bugweri County FDC Member akatuntu@parliament.go.ug
Lubega Medard Sseggona Busiiro County East DP Member mlubega@parliament.go.ug
Mbabazi Betty Ahimbisibwe Woman Representative (Rubirizi) NRM Member bmbabazi@parliament.go.ug
Mpabwa Sarah Patience Updf Represantive Member psmpabwa@parliament.go.ug
Mujungu Jennifer K. Woman Representative (Ntoroko) INDEP Member jmujungu@parliament.go.ug
Musinguzi Yona Ntugamo Municipality NRM Member ymusinguzi@parliament.go.ug
Mutebi Joseph Balikudembe Busiiro County South DP Member jbalikudembe@parliament.go.ug
Mwiru Paul Jinja Municipality East FDC Member pmwiru@parliament.go.ug
Nabukenya Brenda Woman Representative (Luwero) DP Member bnabukenya@parliament.go.ug
Nakayenze Connie Galiwango Woman Representative (Mbale) NRM Member cnakayenzi@parliament.go.ug
Niwagaba Wilfred Ndorwa County East NRM Member wniwagaba@parliament.go.ug
Nyakecho Okwenye Annet Woman Representative (Otuke) NRM Member aokwenye@parliament.go.ug
Nyirabashitsi Sarah Mateke Woman Representative (Kisoro) NRM Member smateke@parliament.go.ug
Obua Denis Hamson Ajuri County NRM Member dobua@parliament.go.ug
Ochwa David Agule County NRM Member dochwa@parliament.go.ug
Odoi Oywelowo Fox West Budama County North INDEP Member fodoi@parliament.go.ug
Otada Sam Owor Amooti Kibanda County INDEP Member amotada@parliament.go.ug
Timbigamba Lyndah Woman Representative (Kyenjojo) NRM Member ltimbigamba@parliament.go.ug
Reports
The Report...