Parliamentary Network on the World Bank (PNoWB)


The Parliamentary Network on the World Ban (PNoWB) is an independent network of Parliamentarians from all over the world.  PNoWB works through regional chapters set up all over the world.  The East African (EA) Chapter has eight member countries namely: Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Eritrea, Zambia and Ethiopia.  The East African Chapter is responsible for bringing local networks and political capital to discussion tables and action plans.  As such, the Chapter’s programmes cover development challenges in the region as well as Parliamentary involvement in the Poverty Reduction Strategies and Country Assistance Strategy processes.

PNoWB –EA Uganda Chapter was officially launched on 13th December 2006

Overall Objectives of the Chapter in the region are to:

  1. To facilitate relations between the East African Parliamentarians and the World Bank and other multilateral organisation.

  2. Deepen East African parliamentarians’ understanding of the Poverty Reduction Strategies and the Millennium Development Goals.

  3. Encourage and mobilise East African Parliamentarians to take concrete action that will reduce poverty.