New MPs take oath

KyoteraThe new MP for Nansana Municipality, Hon. Robert Kasule Ssebunya, has rejoined Parliament after taking oath before the Speaker, Rebecca Kadaga and the Clerk to Parliament, Mrs. Jane Lubowa Kibirige.

Kasule joins six district women MPs who took oath during plenary sittings earlier this week.

The Women MPs are: NRM’s Hon. Brenda Asinde Ssubi (Iganga district); Hon. Caroline Kamusiime (Rukiga district); Hon. Grace Namukhula (Namisindwa district); Hon. Peace Mutuuzo (Bunyangabu district); Hon. Jane Avur (Pakwach district); and DP’s Hon. Robinah Sentongo (Kyotera district).

Rukiga, Namisindwa, Bunyangabu, Pakwach and Kyotera are new districts created during the 9th Parliament to come into effect on 1st July 2017.

Hon. Peace Mutuuzo, the Minister of State for Gender and Culture, was formerly an ex-officio MP but now represents a district, with a right to vote in the House.

Hon. Kasule, the former Chairperson of the Committee on Finance, Planning and Economic Development, represented Kyadondo North during the 9th Parliament. Court declared him the duly elected Nansana Municipality MP, without a by-election replacing Wakayima Musoke Nsereko.

Speaker Kadaga welcomed the Members and urged them to serve their constituencies and country diligently.

“I would like to hand you this instrument of office; the constitution and the Rules of Procedure. Study them and master them as they are to guide you as you deliberate in Plenary and the Committees,” she said.

Hon. Asinde replaced the former Iganga district MP, Hon. Grace Hailat Kaudha, who died in July this year.